Accessibility Statement
Contact Us Today:   919.542.2121

Our Favorite Kids’ Books

Looking for the perfect gift for the littles on your holiday list? McIntyre’s kids’ section has something special for your littlest readers, to middle school! Check out our favorite picture and board books below – then stop by the store to shop them!

5 Favorite Picture Books
Don’t Blink, by Tom Booth1. Don’t Blink, by Tom Booth
Think you can win a staring contest against an elephant? What about a gorilla, a cheetah, a fox, or an alligator? What about all them―AND a bunch of their other animal friends―at the same time? You’re about to find out! Whatever you do, DON’T BLINK!

Not Quite Narwhal, by Jessie Sima

2. Not Quite Narwhal, by Jessie Sima
In the tradition of Uni the Unicorn and Gaston, this heartwarming and adorable debut picture book tells the story of a young unicorn who was born under the sea to a family of narwhals. Told with heartwarming illustrations and spare, sweet text, Jessie Sima’s debut picture book is about fitting in, standing out, and the all-encompassing love of family.

The Book of Mistakes, by Corinna Luyken3. The Book of Mistakes, by Corinna Luyken
As one artist incorporates accidental splotches, spots, and misshapen things into her art, she transforms her piece in quirky and unexpected ways, taking readers on a journey through her process. Told in minimal, playful text, this story shows readers that even the biggest “mistakes” can be the source of the brightest ideas—and that, at the end of the day, we are all works in progress, too.

Life, by Cynthia Rylant4. Life, by Cynthia Rylant
There are so many wonderful things about life, both in good times and in times of struggle. Through the eyes of the world’s animals—including elephants, monkeys, whales, and more—Cynthia Rylant offers a moving meditation on finding beauty around us every day and finding strength in adversity. Brendan Wenzel’s stunning landscapes and engaging creatures make this an inspiring and intriguing gift for readers of all ages.

Baabwaa & Wooliam, by David Elliot5. Baabwaa & Wooliam, by David Elliot
Baabwaa is a sheep who loves to knit. Wooliam is a sheep who loves to read. It sounds a bit boring, but they like it. Then, quite unexpectedly, a third sheep shows up. A funny-looking sheep who wears a tattered wool coat and has long, dreadfully decaying teeth. Wooliam, being well-read, recognizes their new acquaintance: the Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing! The wolf is so flattered to discover his literary reputation precedes him that he stops trying to eat Baabwaa and Wooliam. And a discovery by the sheep turns the encounter into an unexpected friendship.

5 Favorite Board Books
So Many Feet, by Nichole Mara, Alexander Vidal1. So Many Feet, by Nichole Mara, Alexander Vidal
High feet, slow feet, fast feet, snow feet! So Many Feet introduces young children to the great diversity in the natural world, using feet as an accessible point of entry. The playful, rhyming main text offers some information, but is mostly fun to read aloud. The secondary text offers more facts about each animal and what makes its feet so unique.

All Aboard, by Nicole Mara, Andrew Kolb2. All Aboard, by Nicole Mara, Andrew Kolb
Folding out car by car, this accordion-style book takes readers on a tour of what’s inside a train. Each car has something to find—things that make loud noises, things in different shapes—and along the way, a little child searches for his missing hat. All Aboard! Let’s Ride a Train is a fun, interactive ride from beginning to end.

Wild Animals, by Xavier Deneux3. Touch Think Learn: Wild Animals, by Xavier Deneux
Discover a monkey and its jungle home by tracing the raised outline on one side, and the concave shape on the other! Related words on each spread offer parents and child a springboard for further conversation to encourage the language skills crucial to later successful learning. In a format unlike any other, these groundbreaking books translate abstract thought into tangible knowledge.

Thankful, by Eileen Spinelli4. Thankful, by Eileen Spinelli
Thankful, by bestselling and award-winning children’s author Eileen Spinelli, combines charming rhymes and whimsical illustrations to convey the importance of being thankful for everyday blessings. Like the gardener thankful for every green sprout, and the fireman, for putting the fire out, readers are encouraged to be thankful for the many blessings they find in their lives. Meant to be read aloud, this heartwarming picture book will be a treasured keepsake for parents and children alike.

5. Not Quite Black & White, by Jonathan Ying
Silly animals star in this lively picture book that introduces colors in a unique and catchy way. Have you ever seen a zebra wearing pink polka dots? Or a penguin with bright-yellow boots? Debut brother-and-sister team Jonathan and Victoria Ying presents these surprisingly colorful animals and more in this clever celebration of colors.

From board books to chapter books, there’s a wonderful new read perfect for everyone within the shelves! Stop by the bookstore soon to take care of holiday shopping for everyone on your list – there’s plenty to choose from with holiday board books, educational gamesnovels and more!