Accessibility Statement
Contact Us Today:   919.542.2121
Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Village Calendar

:

John Russell, All the Right Circles

Saturday, December 14   |   2:00 pm

The best books draw a picture in your mind – a picture of a time and of a place. With evocative prose and details that put you right inside Raleigh, NC’s charmed houses in the 1990s, author John Russell convinces the reader to stay for ever-so-meaningful chitchat, a cooling cocktail, and the resolution to compelling family and professional drama in All The Right Circles.

Jack Callahan is an outsider in his adopted hometown. A successful lawyer, he’s spent years trying to move in all the right circles. But with his literary mother in a sanitarium, his society marriage on the rocks, and his biggest client – Raleigh’s family owned newspaper the Criterion – facing a hostile takeover, he’s beginning to wonder if it’s really worth it.

“I would like readers to wonder about what responsibility people living today have for actions taken in the past. Are the sins of the parents visited upon the next generation?” Russell says. “I hope readers might reflect on the nature of success, and the costs of winning in the professional world in the U.S.”

Fans of Pat Conroy, Richard Ford and John Updike will enjoy All the Right Circles, a rich, multi-generational story of money and morals, power and race, sex and sanity, set in a changing America. John Russell is the author of Favorite Sons, which won the Sir Raleigh Award for Fiction, and was reviewed favorably in the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Newsday, and the Charlotte Observer. He has worked as an editor at Houghton Mifflin Company working with Pat Conroy, John Jay Osborn, and Richard Ford. One of the books he edited, A Virgil Thomson Reader, won the National Book Critics Circle Award.

Russell was a lawyer and, while a Visiting Scholar at UNC, a consultant for Homeland Security advising on bioterrorism. He joined global law firm K&L Gates as head of the Life Sciences practice until retiring to write full time. His writing has appeared in the Los Angeles Times, Raleigh News and Observer, and Southern Cultures. A native of Greensboro, North Carolina, he was educated at the University of North Carolina, Columbia University, and Harvard Law School. He and his wife divide their time between North Carolina and Mexico.